

State Association Honoring Early Childhood Education Leaders and Families

Media Contact; Wanda Minick, Executive Director (850) 694-6477

Wanda@FLHeadStart.org

TALLAHASSEE, **FL** – **September 18**, **2018** – the Florida Head Start Association (FHSA), representing Florida's Head Start Programs will honor State award recipients during their annual awards luncheon in West Palm Beach October 31, 2018. These award recipients were selected by a panel review and will go on to compete for the Region IV Head Start Association (RIVHSA) annual awards.

This year's honorees are: Administrator of the Year, Mrs. LaTanya Wynn-Hall, Executive Director, Lutheran Services of Florida, Jacksonville

Teacher of the Year, Ms. Loren Herndon, Hillsborough County Public Schools Head Start Program, Tampa

Staff of the Year, Ms. Tabatha Hayes, Early Head Start Education Specialist Lutheran Services of Florida, Jacksonville

Support Staff of the Year, Mr. Matthew Fullas, PC Technician, 4C's -Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc. Orlando

Brevard Public School Head Start, Oral Health Award

Parent of the Year, Ms. Iskeshia Highsmith, Hillsborough County Head Start

Father of the Year, Mr. Daniel Grant, 4C's - Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc. Orlando

During the luncheon, FHSA will also recognize nominees selected for RIVHSA scholarship awards where they have a chance to win cash awards. Our state nominees are:

Ms. Danny Ramon, Scholarship for Head Start Alumni, High School Senior, Orange County Board of Commission Orange County Head Start and Ms. Cynthia Marshall, Scholarship for Head Start/Early Head Start Staff, Higher Education, Lutheran Services of Florida, Largo. Award winners will be notified in October and recognized during RIVHSA awards gala held each year in conjunction with their annual conference in April.

FHSA awards panel selected two state representatives to compete for recognition at the National level through the National Head Start Association (NHSA) annual awards program. These nominees are Brevard Public Schools Head Start for their Edward Zigler Innovation Award which recognizes a local program who has partnered to create high impact services to children and families and Ms. Deborah Jones, Education Specialist with 4C's - Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc. for the Aubrey Puckett Memorial Award, regionally known as the Dr. Arven Moore Memorial Award. This award is bestowed upon a Head Start alum (parent or child) now working for a Head Start or Early Head Start program demonstrating passion for serving their program, community to benefit Head Start families. NHSA awards winners serve

as models and ambassadors for the Head Start Community and will be recognized during their annual awards ceremony.

The Florida Head Start Association is a nonprofit organization working on behalf of the 41,000 children and families Head Start Programs serve in Florida. FHSA has been the voice for Florida's most vulnerable children and families since 1999 and is committed to enhancing and supporting the capability of local Head Start program in the delivery of high quality services for our children and families.

###

Florida Head Start Association 111 N. Gadsden Street, Suite 200 Tallahassee, FL 32301 www.FLHeadStart.org