Annual Awards

FHSA Annual Awards Program Overview

The Florida Head Start Association, (FHSA) recognizes the achievements and highlights the outstanding and important work of the Head Start and Early Head Start members and its communities! 

As the state association for Head Start, one of our primary responsibilities is to recognize individual achievements making notable and significant contributions and to honor the leaders of our sector and association. FHSA works in collaboration with the Region IV Head Start Associations (RIVHSA) awards application and procedures. Click to download 2019, 2020 & 2021 Awards/Scholarship Application Booklet. 

This year, FHSA honored our state winners during an Awards Luncheon on October 31, 2018 at the Embassy Suites - Central in West Palm Beach, FL.  Some of our State award recipients competed for Region and National Awards. RVIHSA announced their winners and selected four of Florida recipients and will be honored during their annual awards gala on February 7, 2018. RIVHSA winners are denoted with an * beside their name. The National Association will announce their selection in December 2018.  To view highlights from this year event, click here.

2018 - 2019 Honorees

To view a complete listing of FHSA 2018 award recipients, please choose which honoree profile you would like to view by selecting the links below.

Administrator of the Year - LaTanya Wynn-Hall, Lutheran Services of Florida, Jacksonville

Parent of the Year - Ikeshia Highsmith, Hillsborough County Head Start, Tampa *

Father of the Year - Daniel Grant, Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc., Orlando *

Teacher of the Year - Loren Herndon, Hillsborough County Public School Head Start, Tampa *

Staff of the Year - Tabatha Hayes, Lutheran Services of Florida, Jacksonville

Support Staff of the Year - Matthew Fullas, Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc. Orlando *

The scholarship award nominees below were selected by a panel review and will go on to compete for RIVHSA annual award.
  • Dannery Ramon Scholarship for Head Start/Early Head Start Alumni, High School Senior - Orange County Head Start
  • Cynthia Marshall Scholarship for Head Start/Early Head Start Staff, Higher Education  Lutheran Services of Florida- Largo
FHSA awards panel also selected two state representatives to compete for recognition at the National level through the National Head Start Association (NHSA) annual awards program. Those are listed below.
  • Brevard Schools Head Start  NHSA Edward Zigler Innovation Award  
  • Deborah Jones NHSA Aubrey Puckett Memorial Award  Community Coordinated Care for Children, Inc., Orlando

Click here to download press release for scholarship and NHSA award representatives.